X-Alps 2021: New and Proven Products as well

Alongside the newly developed OMEGA XA 4 we will also be entering the very successful and experienced OMEGA XA 3 in the X-Alps 2021.

Our new OMEGA XA 4 has been eagerly awaited. In March 2021 it was successfully certified on time, in two sizes. In recent weeks we have produced the wings for our X-Alps athletes. Intensive testing followed in strong spring thermals. The OMEGA XA 4, 22 size, confirmed our expectations. But then we had to face the fact that the 23 did not live up to our high requirements for stability and good feeling in the air. Due to the regulations and the short time remaining, a satisfactory improvement before the competition is no longer possible. Time has run out.

The position we must take is clear: the X-Alps presents a monumental challenge for pilots and equipment. Any compromise is out of the question. For more than 30 years we have built a reputation for releasing only reliable and fully-finished products to the public. The world of ultimate competition is no exception. After discussions with our X-Alps pilots we have decided to go to the start line with two products – the new OMEGA XA 4/22 and the race-tried OMEGA XA 3/23. For our pilot team of twelve this means that seven of them will leave the starting line with the OMEGA XA 4 on their backs, and five will compete with the 2019 winning wing, the OMEGA XA 3.

The new OMEGA XA 4 was developed with the “make the best better” incentive. With this in mind, we will continue to prepare the 23 model for series production in the next few weeks, assured to meet the high ADVANCE standard our customers have come to expect.

X-Alps 2021: Neues und Bewährtes

Neben dem neu entwickelten OMEGA XA 4 setzen wir an den X-Alps 2021 auch auf den bewährten OMEGA XA 3.

Er wird mit Spannung erwartet: unser neuer OMEGA XA 4. Im März 2021 wurde er erfolgreich und termingerecht in zwei Grössen zugelassen. In den letzten Wochen haben wir nun die Schirme für unsere X-Alps Athleten produziert. Darauf folgten intensive Tests in der starken Frühlingsthermik. Der OMEGA XA 4 in der Grösse 22 bestätigte die in ihn gesetzten Erwartungen. Hingegen mussten wir feststellen, dass die Grösse 23 noch nicht unserem hohen Anspruch an Stabilität und Wohlbefinden im Flug gerecht wird. Aufgrund der reglementarischen Vorschriften und der knappen Zeit ist eine Verbesserung vor dem Wettkampf nicht mehr möglich. 

Für uns ist klar: Die X-Alps stellen die grösste Herausforderung für Piloten und Equipment dar. Da sind Kompromisse ausgeschlossen. Schliesslich sind wir seit über 30 Jahren dafür bekannt, nur absolut zuverlässige und ausgereifte Produkte am Markt zu lancieren. In der Diskussion mit unseren Wettkampfpiloten haben wir uns daher entschieden, mit zwei Produkten an den X-Alps-Start zu gehen. Mit dem neuen OMEGA XA 4 in der Grösse 22 sowie mit dem bewährten OMEGA XA 3 in der Grösse 23. Für unser Pilotenteam heisst dies: sieben Piloten starten mit dem neuen OMEGA XA 4, fünf Piloten fliegen den bewährten Siegerschirm von 2019, den OMEGA XA 3.

Der neue OMEGA XA 4 wurde mit dem Anspruch entwickelt, „den Besten noch besser“ zu machen. In diesem Sinne werden wir in den nächsten Wochen auch die Grösse 23 in gewohnt hohem ADVANCE Standard zur Serienreife bringen, so dass alle Grössen die Ansprüche unserer Piloten und unseres Entwicklungsteams vollumfänglich erfüllen.